Salary Steps determined during initial Recruitment?

A place to discuss working at the United Nations from day to day conditions, benefits, entitlements, relations with the host country, social security, taxes - everything about the job, once you got the job!
John_Doe

Salary Steps determined during initial Recruitment?

Post by John_Doe » 14 Sep 2018, 16:43

Dear All

A question relating to the benefits in the P category, maybe someone can share insight: When I get first recruited into a P-3 category position, is my professional experience exceeding the minimum 5 years taken into account?

Let's say I have 7 years of experience, would that mean I could be recruited salary-wise in P-3 and then graded Step 2 or 3 --- or does one always start in Step 1 of P2/P3/P4 regardless the experience?

I could not find the rules on that online, so any advice is much appreciated.

Thank you very much!

Sebastian

Re: Salary Steps determined during initial Recruitment?

Post by Sebastian » 14 Sep 2018, 18:53

John_Doe wrote:
14 Sep 2018, 16:43
A question relating to the benefits in the P category, maybe someone can share insight: When I get first recruited into a P-3 category position, is my professional experience exceeding the minimum 5 years taken into account?

Let's say I have 7 years of experience, would that mean I could be recruited salary-wise in P-3 and then graded Step 2 or 3 --- or does one always start in Step 1 of P2/P3/P4 regardless the experience?
Brilliant question - thanks!

Yes, typically if you start new from the outside and you have excess relevant experience, you will (or maybe I should say "might" - sometimes HR is stingy in recognising "relevant" experience - ) be placed at a higher step. In some cases this can be negotiated.