Leaving a UN internship for a NGO job?

The internship corner on the UN Job List - find your internships here: https://unjl.org/intern and then discuss how to get them in the forum!
Xulimar

Leaving a UN internship for a NGO job?

Post by Xulimar » 26 Oct 2018, 19:04

Hi everybody and thanks for the opportunity to have this space.
i wanted to share my doubts with you and maybe be able to take more responsible and appropriate decision for my future..
I am currently a intern at UNHCR in Protection Unit, I had several years of experience on the field and in case management, also in some moderate conflict areas, than with refugees, prevention of violence and so on in different countries (especially Latina America), but i wanted to work with UNHCR so i accepted to be an intern, and luckily i am also paid for that, even if it's a little amount. My contract would expire end of December after 6 months, but there was the possibility to extend it for 2 more months and I took it in consideration, also talking with my boss, I also wanted to do my visa and try to stay where I am now and look for a job in UN or other good NGOs on the ground as I am enjoying the work and Protection is absolutely my field.