G to P position?

Everything about application processes, test, interviews, offers etc. Also share your success stories in this forum!
Soniglova

G to P position?

Post by Soniglova » 31 Jan 2019, 18:08

Hi my comrades who are struggling in patience game to win a UN job!

I would like to ask a quick question : could it be a good strategy to take a G position as an entry to the UN system for later P position application ?

I already heard that doing so you make an invisible glass ceiling to be hired for a P position. Is it true?

I mean, I heard many advices that one needs to get enter the UN system through a UNV, JPO, or Internship.

To tell more about me, I have a very brief UN internship after I finished my master five years ago. Since then I am working as an assistant of diplomats covering research and analysis, partnership and project management in security & int politics-related fields in the embassy. I have a perm contract now, too.

But it seems it’s almost impossible to get into the system w/o proper experience inside so I was thinking about my next move :

1. Go back to UN agency's intern for 6 months

2. Keep trying a UNV position

3. Getting a G position in my home country hoping it helps to network inside and get a P position later

As doing one of the following options, I will continue applying announced vacancies as well as JPO.

Would you please advise me about this move? Heard that getting G position is not really helping to advance to a P position but worsening it, is it true?

NevKen

Re: G to P position?

Post by NevKen » 02 Feb 2019, 23:55

Soniglova wrote:
31 Jan 2019, 18:08
could it be a good strategy to take a G position as an entry to the UN system for later P position application ? I already heard that doing so you make an invisible glass ceiling to be hired for a P position. Is it true? Heard that getting G position is not really helping to advance to a P position but worsening it, is it true?